Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Total Newbie to Lap Slide

Jawbone

Hi all, long time harp player here, brand new guitar (sort of) player. Got a vintage Regal student model lap slide with square neck 2 weeks ago.

I've always loved the sound. Many times I tried to talk myself into getting a guitar and trying the traditional way of playing, but a few years ago I tried with my wife's guitar and holding the thing and actually making chords was just beyond me.

Wife plays a Regal tuned for slide D-G-D-G-B-D. Neither of us has ever had lessons per se but she has played both trad and slide for some years now. We work as a duo and are getting set to record cd #3. Recent experiments have convinced me I have a long way to go before I can present the new slide thing in public.

I have a bar like the steel guys use and mostly I'm using a pick. I can sort of follow her instructions but it's obvious to me I need to spend a LOT of time with this guitar in my lap. Both hands need a lot of training to end up with a decent consistent sound.

Somewhere down the line I envision playing lap slide, racked harp, and singing as well. So far I really can't take my eyes off the neck or I get lost.

We do a lot of blues and roots, a bit of country, rock, folk, sort of whatever takes our fancy.

Words of counsel much welcomed!

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I can only at this point say to you...

WELCOME to this forum JAWBONE. :)

Lap steel HAS been discussed here in much detail not too long ago. I'm surprised nobody here yet has come in with their assistance. There are a lot of well informed and experienced lap steel and slide players here. Be patient. I'm sure they'll show up.

Whitefang

I started out with NOTHING...and I still have most of it left!