Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Looking for people who are good at playing by ear

robbrown

So I'm making a "piano game" for the web (using the new MidiAccess API) and I need to make a bunch of midi files that are basically the melody, chords and/or bass line for popular songs. Imagine you can play along with a YouTube video, Rock Band style. It doesn't need to sound good standalone, you are always going to be playing on top of the song.

Is anyone here good at that sort of thing? I'd love for you to join me on this project if so. I'm a programmer, and not very good at playing keyboard but particularly not good at playing songs by ear. For what it's worth, I've already demo'd the project publicly (at a Music Tech meetup here in San Francisco), but it will be a month or so before I will do a soft launch, and I need to get a lot of songs in there.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Per Sven's point, I would look for songs that are popular and well known, but in the pubic domain: "Twinkle Twinkle", "Row, Row, Row, Your Boat", etc.

There is still the issue of location public domain MIDI files for said songs, but I'm sure if you search enough you will find them.

I'm also willing to donate my hit song from the 80's "Honk if You're Horny!" to your project. It was climbing it's way to the top of the charts right up until "Thriller" hit the scene.

Anywho, good luck with your project.

Per Sven's point, I would look for songs that are popular and well known, but in the pubic domain: "Twinkle Twinkle", "Row, Row, Row, Your Boat", etc.

There is still the issue of location public domain MIDI files for said songs, but I'm sure if you search enough you will find them.

I'm also willing to donate my hit song from the 80's "Honk if You're Horny!" to your project. It was climbing it's way to the top of the charts right up until "Thriller" hit the scene.