Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Riddle Me This: Synth vs. Guitar

So here's my question: Why do so many keyboard players want to be able to make their synth/sampler sound like a guitar, but based on the sales of MIDI guitar, not a whole lot of guitarists want to sound like a keyboard players?

Really, this is a serious question. Just what is it about guitar that makes keyboard players want to be able to sound like it?

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've been playing guitar for 8 years and keyboard for 5+ months. Here's my thoughts.

Guitar is very expressive. Keyboard can be too, but theres a certain character to a guitar, and the way it can be handled and played. It's so emotive. I'm sure someone can do something good on a keyboard with a guitar patch, but I think the difference will be heard.

I dunno, I'd much rather play my guitar than play a guitar on a keyboard.

I was unaware that a keyboardist would want to play some keys and sound like a guitarist...

For me, there's a few expressive instruments out there, and they all involve having fingers on strings.

Unless they've changed things, I don't see any piano players making chords by opening up the piano and placing their fingers on the strings.

I fancy myself a guitar player, and I'm sticking with it until it doesn't work, or it doesn't get me laid, whichever comes first. You might be able to fake a guitar riff on a keyboard, but you'll never, ever, be able to pass off a sample/loop/synth as a guitar player. Ever.

The guitar is one of the greatest, if not the greatest, instruments of expression ever built. Perhaps more can be done with a bow, but who really wants to listen to a violin for more than 45 minutes?

Raise your hand, and then go back to your room...

I'm a drummer, so it is easier for me to HIT on a keyboard. The Keyboard MIDI interface is solid and responsive.