Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Particular Situation for New Keyboard

Nax

Hi everyone, new poster here. I was wondering if anyone could offer me some perspective in searching for a new keyboard considering my particular situation.

First off, I am going to be a junior in college. I would consider myself a professional-level player, and have gigged often both in and out of state.

As of right now, I have a fantastic rig (in my view, at least): Yamaha Motif XS6 and a Traynor Keymaster K4. I picked them both u a couple years back for only 1500 total, which was a total steal.

However, now I am a broke college student, and to be honest, I never really got into sound synthesis or any of the features of the motif that make it worth the price. I never did recording or processing or anything; I just used it as a piano/EP and bass split for jazz gigs.

In recent evaluation, I kinda want to sell the board and get something cheaper (and lighter) that will fit my needs better. All I really need is a good piano, bass and electric piano sound and the ability to split the keyboard bass/piano, bass/EP, etc.

Thanks!

TLDR: College student downgrading to a new keyboard for jazz gigs. Need good piano and bass sound and ability to split the keyboard.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What is the current street price on a XS6?

The Casio is good at less than a grand. So is the Kawai ES-100. I like Yamaha but I'm not into Yamaha until the $1300 mark.

If you were close to me I would hook you up with an Kawai MP-5. That is collecting dust. Check Craigslist for used stuff.

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!

So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

What is the current street price on a XS6?

The Casio is good at less than a grand. So is the Kawai ES-100. I like Yamaha but I'm not into Yamaha until the $1300 mark.