Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: excited audience members

George88

I've been playing in a cover band for several years now. I am always struck by the amount of excitement that some people show (if we are lucky) when we play songs they like. I realize that unless I were at a Paul McCartney show, I wouldn't react the ways in which some do when they hear the opening to Don't Stop Believin'.

How many of you, that play live gigs, ever respond to live music with the same level of excitement that fans or patrons of the club do?

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am probably more enthusiastic as an audience member to bands than I recall having most people be enthusiastic to me. That is okay. I love music whether giving or receiving it.

But then, we are no Paul McCartney show.

:rolleyes::laugh:

To answer the question, I'm generally a fair bit more circumspect when I'm an audience member, although I did have one or two scotches too many at a mate's band's show about 18 months ago and apparently was VERY into it. Don't remember it that well...

Slightly OT: We played a show recently where some of the girls on the dance floor took selfies with us while we were mid-song. A first for us but they were having a great time so we went with it and mugged for the camera as the situation demanded. Now THAT's enthusiasm!

Most of the gigs I play and go to are prog rock gigs, so it doesn't take much effort! :D

But in general, yes. If I'm at a gig as a punter I look on it as a sort of professional courtesy to give the band on the stage the kind of reception I'd like to receive if it was me giving that performance. Energy between band and crowd is a two-way thing at a gig.