Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Learning the pedals

Spider76

Hi everybody!

I'm a novice organ player but I'm digging more and more my SK2, and I'm thinking about adding a pedalboard to practice bass playing.

As a first buy I don't want to commit a big budget so I'm looking at fairly basic models. Hammond and Nord offerings are expensive, choice is down to the Studiologic model (13 or 17 keys)

http://www.studiologic-music.com/products/mp_pedalboard/

or the crumar mojopedals

http://www.crumar.it/?a=showproduct&b=27

Any comment or user experience?

They look pretty similar, the crumar is cheaper and seems a little more flexible, but I like the octave-and-a-half of the Studiologic.

One octave really looks limited... Of course both can transpose freely, but what concerns me is, if I tranpose the pedalboard then I'm playing the pedals always in (transposed) C, and the manuals in the real key? That sounds weird... And not very good from a didactic point of view

Any opinions from experienced organ players are more than welcome, thank you!

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Definitely go for a pedalboard with more than an octave if you can.

I have the KeyB Pedals 18 with spans a perfect 11th interval C to F.

An octave is okay but a little limited.

www.dazzjazz.com

PhD in Jazz Organ Improvisation.

BMus (Hons) Jazz Piano.

my YouTube is Jazz Organ Bites

1961 A100.Leslie 45 & 122. MAG P-2 Organ. Kawai K300J. Yamaha CP4. Moog Matriarch. KIWI-8P.

If you want to practice tapping the pedals (usually a static note) under a moving LH baseline ala Jimmy Smith style, a small pedalboard, e.g. 13 pedals will do.

Check this out: Larry Goldings 00:18-00:21:

[video:youtube]