Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

A homer out of the park.

Dave Ferris and a small interested coterie of organists:

I have been playing a clonewheel with LHB now for over 3 years on a weekly blues jam gig

To say the gig is frustrating is an understatement :

too loud, shaky meter, from my pov, considerable self centeredness, etc etc

I think in 3 years I have played a dozen or so killer blues solos ( usually in favored keys - so sue me )

I am such "a wild and crazy guy", living a fairly imbalanced life, where music is my main thrill; these gigs are extra challenging- if I dont hit ball out of the park, its a lot of frustration before my next opportunity.

About a year ago, I played a gig with organ and my historically endless problems with gear came up..amp just broke on me.. I had to go in the car and grab another speaker , in mid set!!

Furious, I returned to an awaiting small but happy crowd and played my f ing ass off, ( Blues is a great medium for that btw ) I was so angry as I played, I started to play very forceful bass lines that would not be denied, or compromised by the usually very bossy and too loud band leader guitarist . I do not recall what I played bass line wise, but there was real creativity going on.. Not harmony led, but BASS line led ideas. My point here, is B3 clones with LHB, are great for coming up with new creative ideas, including in the bass.

Well that was a long year ago.. but last night, I finally had another maybe better set, maybe my best set in some respects in my life.. I was in scorched earth mode.. not exactly angry just a lot of electrical energy that HAD to emerge.

Man that s*** is gratifying. And the Blues, and The B3 with LHB are great ways to let it rip.. no worries about funny even ill considered chord changes... just Blues Mode all the way=

Blues= less thought, more groove, more blues, not even be bop!