Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Modifying Yamaha CP4 Piano Sounds

RogerL

I just got a CP4 and am in the 30 day allowable return period. I play only for fun and usually at home with headphones. To my ears, the piano sounds right out of the box are a little harsh and not really full in the headphones. Even the various "dark" piano samples seem too harsh to me and the attack too much. I guess I am getting old and like prefer the full sounds like a Keith Jarrett gets from his real piano.

So, I am looking for recommendations for tweaks to make the sounds smoother as much like a full Steinway grand as possible. With my old Roland, it had this dial that adjusted the "piano lid" (figuratively) to make the sounds mellower. I am not a programmer type and just cant figure out with the Yamaha and the manual (parts of which read like a physics book) how to adjust the piano sounds. I was hoping someone could help me to identify which of the various adjustable parameters in the various menus can smooth the edge of the sound. I can adjust the EQ highs down but seems like there should be some equivalent to the Roland to adjust the piano sounds. All in all, I love the CP4 but just want to tweak the piano some. If anyone had a setting for their piano to sound as classical as possible, I would appreciate it.

And if there is a good setting list for an electric rhodes type piano to make it as close to the SV1 or Nord as possible, that would be great also. I dont know if pros consider their best settings to be secrets or not. While I am no pro, I do love going to hear live jazz so I am someone who supports all you real players.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply