Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Starting to think about saving up for a serious poly

MAJUSCULE

I'm starting drool a little too much over the polysynths already on or coming to the market. And I remember Marino telling me I should "save up and buy a real serious poly synth" rather buying my Juno-106 a couple years ago. It's still my only poly synth, and though I don't use it as much as my other boards, I still love it and hope to never sell it.

However, like I said, drool...

Now, since I'm a poor student who is trying to make a living from music, I won't be able to actually purchase a high-level poly unless I save up for a while. I also have several actual real-life gig needs that take priority. And we'll see if I don't get impatient and pull the trigger on something like a Sledge or Sub 37/Pro 2/Modal 001. Drool, amirite? :drool::hitt: So anyway, I've got some time to think, and maybe even try out some stuff.

Anyway, I guess I need to decide on some things. Anything else you guys would add to the checklist?

-Analog/digital/hybrid?

-Gig/studio/both?

-61 keys? Less?

-New/used (vintage?)

-How many waveforms?

-Modulation possibilities?

Probably the biggest factor will end up being my budget and what I can actually get my hands on. I feel like I'll end up falling in love with most of the boards, but the ones I'll actually get to play will obviously have a leg up.

Anyway, obvious contenders at press time include, but are not limited to:

-DSI Prophet 12

-Sequential Prophet 6

-Access Virus TI2

-John Bowen Solaris

-Modal Electronics 002

-Modal Electronics 008

-Alesis Andromeda

Let me know what I've forgotten so I can curse my wallet a little bit more. :wave:

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply