Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Newbie needs advice on mastering recordings PLEASE!

I am a composer and digital audio/MIDI newbie and need some SIMPLE advice on how to proceed with "mastering" some classical music recordings of my own works (some orchestral, some small ensemble chamber, some with voice). The masters are either from cassette or DAT. The original recording quality varies from not so good – under recorded and hissy, to pretty good. Some DAT’s are at 44.1, some are at 48 kHz. I know what I want isn't simple but I'm trying to find someone to explain it to me in simple terms. What I want to do is get them all in the best shape I can – no extra pops, footsteps on stage, no "silence" (read hiss) at the beginning and end, as quiet as I can get them without degrading the sound, as full and rich – yet not "pop artificial" as I can get them – to use them on perusal CD’s to get performances and commissions. I may want to play with tempo a bit in the case of recordings that were readings not performances. My set up for a project studio is new and good: Dual 800 G4, 1.5 MB of RAM, OS 9.2.1, Digital Performer 3.01 (what I have to record and edit with), MOTU plugins, Waves Gold 3.2. Basically I have the tools to do this but have gotten frustrated trying to get it all to work correctly and am spending a huge amount of time "lost in the woods" going around in circles. I know there are many variables and that it is very subjective (there isn’t a single answer), but can someone lay down the basic procedure - steps of what to use, general settings that are at least ballpark to get certain results, what order to use various plugins in, and so on. I’m willing to tweak once I have a sense of what the complete picture is but I need a simple road map to get me started. For example: what do I do with filtering to get rid of hiss? What type(s) of filters? Do I have to change the filtering settings depending on the loudness of the music a