Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

keyboard rig suggestions for new wedding band keyboardist

ERC

Hi All! I've been a classical pianist most of my life but I've recently begun rehearsing with a wedding band and need advice on upgrading my rig. The band covers 50's through current Top-40 hits and I've had great success using Mainstage and Omnisphere to cover all of the synth parts, controlled by my Kawai MP10. I freaking love that board but I'm looking for a new one for two main reasons: weight and redundancy. I'm paranoid of my laptop giving out for whatever reason during a gig and not having similar sounds available in the MP10 as a backup, and that thing is a beast and my back is complaining!

I'm hoping you all can share your opinions and experience. Please forgive me if I overlooked this being beaten to death already in a previous thread! :blush: I keep bouncing back and forth between the following three plans:

• the new Kronos
  • Nord Stage 2
  • A light-weight MIDI controller + Receptor (in theory more stable than my macbook?)

I'll likely continue using Mainstage but I'd love to have an alternate setlist programmed into the keyboard itself if end up going either Nord or Kronos. Thanks!

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Since you're comfortably gigging with the laptop and the sounds in the board would then only be for backup, it seems like portability and action would be your focus. Something as inexpensive and light as a Casio PX-5S might do the trick for you. It still has enough sounds in it to carry you through a gig if need be.

Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our now not-so-new new video at https://youtu.be/3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out! And hopefully I'll have something new here this year. ;-)