Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help with RUSH sounds 4 Roland Keys

Threality

Hey,

Newbie here...

I am primarily a bassist, but in my new band I am also playing some keys and could really use some help from you more experienced keyboardists.

We are playing a couple of songs by RUSH - Tom Sawyer and The Spirit of the Radio - and I am trying to put together some sounds on my Roland XP-80 that are similar to the ones used in those songs.

Does anyone out there have any suggestions? Are there any people out there that play these songs and have some patches and/or layered patches that they use that sound authentic to the original recordings?

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

see if you can find one of these expansion cards "SR-JV80-04"

it is specifically for vintage synth sounds

IMO you are going to have a hard time recreating those sounds on an almost 20 year old Roland workstation, others here might disagree

:nopity:

Consider buying an SE-1 used on ebay.

Very powerful, all of the Sawyer sounds in the very beginning and throughout.

He used an Oberheim, but the SE-1 has the Moog and Oberheim Filters, but 3 x Oscillators.

Monophonic Leads are OK on a 2 x Osc. synth but that 3rd Oscillator can be used for Fatness, Pitch Mod, Sync, FM Sync (as in Tom Sawyer Intro).

Being a Bassist you will appreciate the size of the testicles this 3U has.

Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic

You can do those with the XP-80, but it's not very intuitive with lots of menu diving.

You may want to do some basic synthesis tutorials online.

Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.