Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Neal Evans' rig

cedar

I saw Soulive on Halloween, and was wondering what about his current setup. (I saw some discussion of his setup in an old thread here, but I don't know if it's current. I think this picture accurately reflects what he was using on this gig.)

Does anyone recognize the keyboards here? I am particularly curious about the one on top, which sounded basically like a clav dirtied up with effects.

http://media.virbcdn.com/cdn_images/resize_1024x1024/b0/4597973eacca70ea-IMG_5589.jpg

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm no expert but the organ looks to me like a Hammond Portable B3mk2

http://beta.asoundstrategy.com/sitemaster/userUploads/site153/PB-3-1.jpg

UPDATE: looks like it got answered while I was posting :)

Boards: Kurzweil SP-6, Roland FA-08, VR-09, DeepMind 12

Modules: Korg Radias, Roland D-05, Bk7-m & Sonic Cell

I remember that he used the Roland controller to drive the bass sounds from an old Roland-JV2080 module, I believe.

He's probably updated it since then.

Nord Stage 2 SW73, Kurzweil PC3LE7, Moog Sub 37, Alesis Ion, Rhodes Stage 73, Moog Werkstatt-01, Yamaha CP-300

-------------

Knock knock

Who's there?

Interrupting synthesizer

Interrup-MOOOOOOOOOG

Hohner Clavinet D6 on top ( with the front cover missing for quick tuning I would imagine )not sure of the stomp box , Looks like a Roland midi controller and a Hammond B3P. Not sure why he would still use the Roland ,he should be able to dial in a decent bass patch using the new Hammond ?? That's a stretch to be able to reach the clav ....

"Ive been playing Hammond since long before anybody paid me to play one, I didn't do it to be cool, I didnt do it to make a statement......I just liked it "

FWIW, Neal had pimped the Korg SV-1 early on. Seems like even he's moved on.

Yes, he did a promo for Korg at the launch, but he never added it to his live rig. So he didn't "move on"...