Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Introduction to MIDI software

cedar

As I mentioned in another thread, I am fairly new to music software generally, but increasingly I get the sense that it is only a matter of time before I familiarize myself with the wonderful world of MIDI files. Just looking for some basic guidance on how to get started.

My quick background: I am primarily a jazz pianist, and would be happy to live my days playing acoustic piano. But I do like other genres and for various reasons am now involved in or considering playing in different types of groups, including a funk band, progressive rock band, jazz/fusion, etc.

I own a Yamaha CP4 and a Hammond XK1-C. The only software I have is a stripped down version of Finale called Songwriter. I have been using Songwriter to create lead sheets and fairly simple arrangements for combos. Ultimately, I expect I will need something more powerful, because I have some ambition for more elaborate arranging.

I do not have a DAW (though I can easily anticipate getting one at some point) and have never used MIDI files. In another thread, though, suggestions were made that I use MIDI files to expedite the process of transcribing and printing sheet music. I do find myself transcribing more and more, but I hate the process and would love to take any shortcuts I can.

Having said all that, I am asking for: (1) recommendations about MIDI software (or other software); (2) general guidance on how to use the software, particularly for the purpose of transcribing and printing sheet music; (3) any other suggestions for hardware that I might need to purchase. For example, I don't know whether a DAW is necessary to print PDFs of MIDI files, or whether that can be accomplished with just software and a computer.

If this is covered in any other thread, please feel free to point me in that direction instead.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply