Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Studio Recording: Signal Flow

Kenny.

Okay, I've got just about every piece that I'll need to finally complete my studio. Now, I was just wondering specifically how everyone's set up their system: specifically from going keyboards to monitors. Is it Keyboards -> Mixer (desk) -> (USB out to) DAW (Logic, iMac) -> Monitors? I see this as working, until I want to practice for a performance from my keyboards without opening my DAW, ect (while still projecting audio through my monitors)... I also see it as working if I toggle from plugging my interface from the headphone out of the computer (for recording), and straight out of the mixer (for practicing).

Any help appreciated. I'm a total newbie to this (as I'm sure you can tell). Also, I can post some pictures of the new setup, if anyone wants to see. :)

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Try this:

Keyboard Audio out to Mixer Audio in

iMac (or interface) Audio Out to Mixer Audio In

Mixer out to Monitors

I assume that the USB is digital audio from your mixer (or interface). This will still go to the iMac USB in.

This will allow you to play keyboards with or without the iMac turned on.

Yamaha Motif XF6, Yamaha AN200, Logic Pro X,  Arturia Microbrute, Behringer Model D, Yamaha UX-3 Acoustic Piano, assorted homemade synth modules

I thought about that too, but I have a Behringer Q1002USB doing the mixing, and I don't think there are mute buttons on each channel for it. Will I be constantly fiddling with knobs if I do that?

Probably not. Using the Behringer's "Control Room" and "Headphone" outputs for monitors and cans, respectively, will allow you to use the mixer's monitor assignment switches to handle your most common monitoring situations without creating feedback loops. Check out section 2.3 of the Behringer's manual for more info.