Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

cheap recording software for windows 8.1 laptop

heehee62

What inexpensive recording software should I get? I want something:

1. Very easy to use

2. Can record multi-tracks at the same time

3. Cheap

I've got plenty of effects and sounds on my audio interface and instruments so I don't need those. I'm new to recording and this is just for fun so need something really simple.

Thanks.

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Check out tracktion. It's as simple as it gets. Tracktion 4 comes free with lot of Behringer or Mackie stuffs.

Or check out Studio One Free.

Those two are great, you won't spend any time figuring out how everything works. Studio One Pro is my go-to DAW btw. It actually keeps me concentrating on making music rather than reading the manuals. I had Cubase and Sonar before.

Lot of people also recommend Reaper, cause it's cheap and very versatile. I never liked it though.

http://www.yonatanpandelaki.com

Kawai MP11, Yamaha MOX6, Gem RP-X Module, Plugiator, Neo Instruments Ventilator.

Lot of people also recommend Reaper, cause it's cheap and very versatile. I never liked it though.

Its versatility is its downfall. I've been using it for a year or so and am still having to look things up. If you're prepared to spend a bit of time getting it set up "your way", it's incredibly capable.

Cephid - Progressive Electro Rock

I moved to Tracktion recently and can recommend it. I'm audio capture only these days - no midi.

What's your audio interface?

You mention being a beginner. I'm interested to hear how you get on with Studio One Free. Please post again when you've had a playaround with it.

I get asked to recommend stuff and I'm unsure how easy some of the software actually is - if you're a proper beginner.

I'm the piano player "off of" Borrowed Books.

I use an Alexis Multimix USB 2.0 mixer as my audio interface.