Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

My First Time On Organ!

Jazzwee

First of all I'm a pianist. I know NOTHING about organ other than reading a few things lately, watching some videos, and looking at organs at the store.

I got my Nord Electro 4 HP just a couple of hours before my first gig on Thursday so I haven't had a chance to figure it out much yet. I just worried about piano samples and just set it up with 888000000 on one split and 888888888 on the other. I was just going to play the Oye Como Va comp so no big deal. I don't consider this a real organ trial since I did very little.

But yesterday was the first time I actually had to play organ. It was quite funny trying to understand the drawbars. I had a late night cramming to understand which were fundamental, which were not (ahhh...those colors finally made sense!). Then I had to figure out how to make the sustain a rotor slow/fast.

What to do with the swell pedal? Left/right foot? Darn it was difficult to control with the left foot.

I basically managed to practice with it for about an hour.

So armed with extremely basic knowledge, I took the plunge and played some tunes on organ. I recall using organ for West Coast Blues, Route 66, and Cantaloupe Island.

It was pretty funny! I felt like an octopus trying to figure out all these things while I try to solo. Couldn't keep the swell pedal in time (no left foot chops at all). One time, the organ screamed because I had the swell down and forgot to adjust the volume. Figured out on the fly how to make a point on the solo by holding one note down while stomping on the fast leslie.

I had no idea how the organ sounded in the mix. And it was quite difficult playing anything fast on weighted keys (I guess I have to learn not to dig in like piano).