Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Recording rehearsals

Phil UK

Hi! Not a specific keyboard related question but has anyone got any advice as to the best and simplest way to record a rehearsal? We're not likely to keep what we record - we just want to be able to play something back that clearly separates instruments so that we can work on arrangements etc. I'm thinking maybe a Zoom or something similar? Any advice gratefully received!
Nord Electro 4D, Roland VR09, Roland RD-300SX

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have been using this for a few years. My bandmates love it as I upload the sound files to dropbox and send them weekly links to listen. This is the entry level model. I'm sure the more expensive stuff sounds better.

It's easy as anything to use; I just plunk it on a table and set the recording level once at the beginning while everyone else plays. I then don't have to touch it for the rest of the session unless I want to split up all the songs into separate files in which case I just have to press start/stop.

http://www.zoom.co.jp/english/products/h1/

Nord Stage 2 Compact, Yamaha MODX8

I've been using a Zoom H2N for a couple of years now with great success. Turn it on, check the level and hit go. Normally I just put it across the room facing the band and let it run. The sound quality is great, even at high levels, and very detailed. I've recorded practices, demos and the odd bit of foley with it, and if I had a stand and some time to place it probably, could probably record a whole drum kit with it. Easily my favourite bit of gear, bar none!

As far as separation of instruments goes, that's up to you unfortunately. The H2N has plenty of detail, but if you haven't got the arrangements and balance of parts right, you'll know about it! Fortunately most recorders have a headphone jack to listen back to recordings, so fixing things on the fly is straightforward.