Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Weighted keys difference...

AIV

Hi all. I'm pretty new to keyboards and I've found out recently that not all key types are the same. There are non-weighed and weighted keys. But I've also found out that weighed keys also differ among themselves. I'm buying Korg Krome soon and I'm attending keyboard classes and my teacher has Kurzweil PC3K8 with weighted keys. What bothers me is if the Krome will feel similar as PC3K8. I just don't want anything lighter than PC3K8. I hope Krome keys are the same or even heavier. Has anyone had experience with both so you can tell me the difference? Thanks in advance!

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply
You obviously have not played a Korg Krome. Why are you buying something you have not played? It is as far away from a Kurzweil PC3K8 as San Francisco CA is from London England. If you like the Kurzweil, buy a Kurzweil.
:nopity:

Kurzweil PC3K8: $3,495.00

Korg Krome: $1,599.00

AIV, what is it about the Krome that is enticing you to purchase it? There are other keyboards in that price range that have better keyboard actions (as that seems to be of particular importance to you). Have you checked out the Yamama MOX series or the Casio PX-5S (just to name two)?

I just don't want anything lighter than PC3K8. I hope Krome keys are the same or even heavier. Has anyone had experience with both so you can tell me the difference?

I think Krome keys feel heavier than the Kurz PC3K8 keys... though not necessarily in a good way...

Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our now not-so-new new video at https://youtu.be/3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out! And hopefully I'll have something new here this year. ;-)

Hi all. I'm pretty new to keyboards [...] I'm buying Korg Krome soon and I'm attending keyboard classes and my teacher has Kurzweil PC3K8 with weighted keys.