Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Here 'tis, the HARBINGER song, BIG WORDS and all

Okay, here's the song I mentioned when I started the other thread about big words in modern music... specifically the words "harbinger." I could say a lot but I'll just let you read it, then I'll respond later. I appreciate your taking a look at this. The question remains whether to retain the ten dollar words. (This is a folk/country/Mellencamp style song.) I'm a rookie songwriter; started two months ago. Lots to learn. On a personal note, this song concerns my dad, who is gone now. I gotta get this one right. I've polished heck out of this song but I keep improving it every time I work on it. There will be more minor tweaking for musicality. I've got the chords and melody down but some of the phrasing must be tweaked slightly. You might not understand all of the references but I guess that's okay. I'd like to know what you think about this and also about the "bigger" words. (Minor tone... verses are Am-C-G-Am) ===== "Reflections Of Their Fear" Copyright 2001 by Duke Pittman All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. Daddy starin' pensively I wonder what he sees Six months straight of rainin' gloom I guess the cotton's doomed Backyard barks infernal Deafening dirge eternal Riveting relentlessly "Beat down," he says to me "Hell can't make me bluer Than these wet/dry evil doers They got a tip from Heaven I need seven come eleven" Harbingers so haunting All night and day through May Rainclouds didn't let up A welcome overstayed [BRIDGE 1] Said he'd never seen it -- two rigs of such contrast Stickin' next year's new seeds while pickin' on the past Close call at the turnrow, brother almost runs me down I got one crop inbound, he's ridin' his outboud [CHORUS] All have picture windows They're never crystal clear Farmers fight forever Reflections of their fear [INSTRUMENTAL BREAK] Six months straight, sweatin