Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Newbie midi question.

briandadrumma

I'm new to the forum and new to keys. i'm a drummer in a duo, and i want to add a midi controller and some sounds to my rig. key sounds, not percussion. mainly organ, and synth. i purchased a cheap 25 key usb midi controller. what is the easiest/inexpensive way to get sounds? a sound module, or a laptop with ableton? neither? both? i basically just want some sounds for live performance with no latency. any help would be appreciated!!

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply
i purchased a cheap 25 key usb midi controller. what is the easiest/inexpensive way to get sounds? a sound module, or a laptop with ableton? neither? both? i basically just want some sounds for live performance with no latency.

Easiest, inexpensive, and lowest latency are probably not going to go together.

Least expensive way is usually to use something you already own, which could make a laptop or i-device (iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch) the winner there. If you have more than one of those, apps are cheaper for i-devices than laptops.

Lowest latency would be a dedicated hardware module, followed by a well-equipped, properly configured laptop, with the i-device bringing up the rear.

Easiest would probably be an iPad. Dedicated hardware could be easier if you were using a controller that (a) had standard MIDI jacks instead of (just) USB and (b) had controls on it you could use for patch selection (and possibly other sound manipulation), and I'm guessing that your cheap 25 key controller has neither.

The laptop will give you the widest range of capabilities, but it will not be easiest (though will probably be easier with a Mac laptop than Windows).