Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Velocity switching

Dr88s

This is a generic question and not about any particular keyboard.

The other night I was going through the manual of my PX-5S and came across the section on splitting/layering; one of the options mentioned was to velocity switch so that tone 1 sounds at certain key velocities and tone 2 at others, even with some overlap if desired.

I know that velocity switching is not unique to the Casio and has been a feature of a lot of my keyboards, yet I have never used it before. I got to thinking about it and realized that it could be a good strategy to get around limited real estate. Why bring along another keyboard/controller/module for a few brass stabs when you can set a layer which responds only to velocity 128 and pound the heck out of the keys when you want the stabs to sound...

So my question is: does anybody use this live? Are your dynamics precise enough so that you can accurately trigger the different sounds at will? I can foresee accidentally perhaps hitting a key a little too exuberantly and triggering an unwanted sound. That would be embarrassing to say the least.

Nord Stage 2 Compact, Yamaha MODX8

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I find it more useful for smooth transitions over a velocity range. The one exception is brass falls at maximum velocity. Most of the time I prefer to use my pedal to blend sounds, but velocity switching has its place.

Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.