Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Any patent attornies?

J. Dan

I have what I think is a good idea for a keyboard product, but I currently don't have the time and resources to develop it. However I was thinking it might not be a bad idea to patent it. There are 2 different types of patents I was thinking and was not sure what all would be required for each:

1). A patent on the concept (nothing like it exists currently)

2) a patent on the actual design including electrical/mechanical details.

Seems if I could obtain #1, then #2 wouldn't matter....anybody care to weigh pros/cons of each? #2 seems it may require at least some prototyping first to prove out my design.

I am an engineer and perfectly capable of generating AutoCAD drawings and schematics. Howeve, i don't know what's required for a patent. How do patent attornies get paid, and what should I look for? Im guessing stay away from these outfits on TV that advertise patenting your invention? Any advice would be appreciated.

Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You can't patent a concept. The phrase you'll most commonly hear is "you can't patent an idea, only an expression of an idea."

The two types of patent are a design patent (what it looks like) and a utility patent (typically a method and apparatus for doing something). Both types cover a specific, tangible entity, not a concept or idea.