Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Jump Blues tips?

To B3

I''m starting to play with an artist that plays some jump blues numbers, along with other blues styles. I'm fluent on pretty much every style of blues, with jump blues being maybe the main exception.

I've never played nor heard too much jump blues. All I know is that it involves normally a II-V-I turnaround.

I searched for tutorials online on youtube and all I could find is some "how to play guitar licks" and other things that I did not find useful.

So, question is... any 101 tips on how to play that style on piano/organ, which scales are used (guess the regular blues pentatonic cant be used all along, right?), and stuff?

Keep in mind that I'm self taught and have a very, very poor music reading, so, the more basic or visual the explanations, the better. Thanks in advance.

My drawbars go to eleven.

Gear: Roland VR-09, Nord Electro 2 61, Korg CX-3. Hear my music: facebook.com/smokestoneband

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'll be interested to hear what others have to say. To me, the term always just meant the same as swing blues, and could be usual 1-4-5, though often with a 5-#5-5-1 turnaround rather than V-IV-I, plus a number of other substitutions (like 2-5-1, 6-2-5-1, 3-6-2-5, and [not as a turnaround] 2m-3m-b3#9-5). But mostly it's a rhythmic thing rather than a harmonic one since all those could be in any kind of blues anyway. Forgive the Arabic numerals, they should be Roman but I'm being lazy.

But whadda I know? Not much.

One thing I like to do is, in C, play E-G-A-C chord on I. Drop the E to Eb on IV, and move that chord up a whole step for the V. It's fun to do that on both piano and Hammond at the same time, or both left and right on piano, in a rhythmic style (plus altering the voicings, just using the ones given above as home base.)