Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Practicing "blind" playing

NeverTooLate

Hi! I just registered after watching the interesting discussions on this forum for a while. I'm not a beginner (nor a pro), but most of my experience comes from playing around on my own without sheet music. Although in general my skills are sufficient for the bands I currently play in, I feel I need to get rid of my habit of looking at the keys all the time, which I developed because I never felt a reason to look anywhere else.

When playing in a band, most of the time it's not that bad any more, in part due to having to communicate, or sometimes singing backing vocals. But I still have a lot of trouble with it during solos, especially improvised ones. Which, of course, is the only time anyone might actually be looking at me. ;-)

So at first I tried to practice with completely covered keys for a while, but wasn't able to play well at all this way, and didn't seem to make any progress either. Now I've found that I can play just fine if I can only see the very end of the keys but not my fingers. But if allow myself to do that, I usually forget to take my eyes off the keys after having to take a brief look.

I guess I would like to do something that forces me to look up from time to time. Playing some sheet music might work, but that feels like work instead of fun. Just now I had the idea of setting up some sort of visual metronome. I think I will try that, but I'm looking for more (maybe totally crazy) suggestions. And I'd especially like to know if anyone has been in a similar situation before, and how you solved it. Thanks!

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Usually, "playing without looking" just gets better with experience, but here are a few considerations anyway:

- Start practicing something simple, like intervals, without looking at the keys. Practice each hand separately.