Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Debating pickups...

MattF82

Ok, so I have an Ibanez RG321fmsp, they come stock with V7 and V8 pickups. Ive found that a great many players consider them garbage, or at the very least, too bassy/muddy. I personally think that they are a bit muddy, but not necessarily trash. I have been told to adjust the height of the pickups, and also to switch the magnets from one pickup to the other (I believe an Alnico 5 in the V8 and ceramic in the V7). On the other hand some have said to deposit them in the trash as soon as possible. My question is this: should I simply replace them with something else, or should I attempt to adjust them first? I have never done any work on pickups before and would hate to ruin anything in my first attempt. Is it a very complicated task? Does the coil tap complicate things any further? I greatly appreciate any info and advice, as I am a novice in all of this. Thanks!

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

EDIT: Hmmmnn... Are the adjustable pole-pieces exposed and easily adjusted on your guitar's pickups? If you can get at 'em...

Lower the pickups a little on the bass-sides, and raise the individual pole-pieces (assuming they're adjustable) by a similar amount, tweaking their respective heights by ear for string-to-string and bass-to-treble-side balance. Just be sure that when a given string is fretted at the highest fret, it does not contact or buzz against its pole-piece, particularly at the neck-pickup.

You will likely end up with a stagger that resembles that of the pole-pieces in vintage style Strat pickups, with the probable exception of the 3rd/"G"-string's pole, which you will most likely have a bit lower, as the original '50s vintage pickups were designed for use with a wound 3rd/"G", while a modern string-set usually uses a plain 3rd/"G", which tends to be louder and more present.