Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ipad Alternative's?

Dukenukeem

Noob here, just a quick thanks to all the good stuff posted very informative! So, it seems most players who use a computer or tablet along with their keyboards are using a Ipad or Mac, I was wondering are there as good of alternatives in windows based or say the new nexus 7 tablet(android app I guess) or is the Apple choices just that much further ahead in the game?

Also, if you could list some of the sofwares your using that would be cool. Not looking for pros or cons just curious what's out there.

Thx, Duke

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A problem with Android for real-time work is latency. For example, this is a cool app...

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=audio.bristol.minimoog&hl=en

but the author says, "however the lowest possible latency for pretty much all Android devices is currently 42ms, on my HTC Desire it is 70ms."

I think MIDI timing is also an issue, without an equivalent to CoreMIDI.

Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our now not-so-new new video at https://youtu.be/3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out! And hopefully I'll have something new here this year. ;-)

Music on an Android device sucks...

Not a single good score editor, audio latency up to the sky, no driver to support midi. You can find a lot of shitty little piano or synth to play "happy birthday", but not a single good stuff.

(Dare I mention that I am writing this from an android tablet ?)