Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Which hand piano, which hand organ?

Dr88s

I'm new to playing two keyboards simultaneously. Many of my band's songs call for piano and organ at the same time. My left/right independence is not what it should be. I'm much more dexterous with my right and so I tend to play organ melodies and fills with my right while playing chords/comping on piano in my left.

When I watch my favourite organ players (Benmont Tench, Rami Jafee) playing both they are usually playing organ with the left hand and piano with the right. Is there any good technical reason for this other than personal preference? Should I try to train myself otherwise?

:confused:

Nord Stage 2 Compact, Yamaha MODX8

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

are you playing two boards stacked or one 61/73/88 board split?

I can only speak for myself, because the type and style the band plays my LH is holding organ " pads" my RH playing 6/8 or rhythm

parts , licks and the like. For solo voicing either piano or organ ill switch to both hands on the relevant instrument .

I am Left Handed , btw.

SpaceStation V3,

MoxF6,PX5S,Hammond-SK2,Artis7,Stage2-73,

KronosX-73,MS Pro145,Ventilator,OB DB1,Lester K

Toys: RIP died in the flood of 8/16 1930 Hammond AV, 1970s Leslie 145, 1974 Rhodes Stage

Depends on a couple of things.

1) The material - What do you use to cover bass lines, which instrument is you primary solo voice etc....

2) The physical instruments and you as the player - Are you actually playing a piano and organ or are you stacking slabs on a stand. If they are stacked then you can interchange hands how you want. Generally I find it more comfortable for the left to be on the bottom but left can be on top. If playing a real organ I set the organ to the right.