Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

MOX8 Turning off!

metromike

Hi Everyone...I wonder if anyone else has experienced this problem. I have been gigging with my MOX8 for about 6 months now and everything has been fine. Last two shows it powered off in the middle of a set (while I was playing!) I would lose the keyboard out of the mix and look down and it was off.

I know there is a auto-off, energy saver type thing, but I checked and that function is off.

Any insight from you guys would be appreciated - thank you!

Gear: Roland RD700, Yamaha MotifES6, Roland Fantom FA76, Roland JP-8000, Roland AX-7, Roland Juno-106.

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Loose power connector? It doesn't take much of a power drop to kill it. I had a power strip that would kill my board it would drop out sometimes for less than a second. Other things like my monitor setup would stay working since the dropout was so short lived.

Boards: Kurzweil SP-6, Roland FA-08, VR-09, DeepMind 12

Modules: Korg Radias, Roland D-05, Bk7-m & Sonic Cell

Does this only happen on a gig or can you replicate the problem at home? Power at the gig might be just flaky enough to cause problems. Even if your gigs for the past six months have included the place where the problem happened, things there might have changed.

I've seen posts here where someone was at a gig and the power there would fluctuate just enough when the refrigerator cycled on to cause a similar problem.

If it's the power at the gig causing it, you might need power conditioning or a battery backup.

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI