Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How would you guys handle this?

area51recording

I started playing in a local band a few months ago. It's "kind" of a jazz band, all instrumental stuff (Caravan, Blue Bossa, All Blues) also some original stuff. The leader is a local wunderkind who simply WAILS on alto, soprano, as well as EWI. Dude is AMAZING technically, we're talking sheets of sound for days. He's brilliant and the crowd responds in kind. I play keys and tenor, and we're joined by my sons, who play drums and guitar and both do a GREAT job. I'm definitely a proud dad! Now the crux is this...when we joined the band one of the guys who was there before us is a trumpet player. This guy is a band director by trade, and as far as his physical playing he's pretty good. HOWEVER, when it comes to his soloing (and the guy takes a 3 minute solo in every song it seems) the cat is CLUELESS. It's like he has no concept of the changes he's playing over, it's like his attitude is "oh....it's JAZZ, I can play whatever I want" I mean really, just whatever. It's atonal as HELL. It's not like he's playing "out" intentionally, because he's never "in", not even on something that might vamp for one chord forever, it's like he has no idea what he's doing whatsoever. The leader is his buddy, and I look at him and think "surely you hear how much this sucks, don't you?" and honestly I catch him wincing every now and then, mostly because on top of being completely out of it, the guy insists on doing it as loud as he can. He's a GREAT guy and no one wants to hurt his feelings but MAN is it ever hard to listen to when everyone else in the band sounds like they are playing a different tune then this guy! the thing that freaks me out the most is this guy is a high school band director, and has no grasp whatsoever about music theory in any way shape or form. No one wants to bag this guy, besides I don't think that's an option as he was sort of "grandfathered