Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

CTK 4200

BrandonMurchison

Hello, fellow musicians and piano players!

I just wanted to ask a question, in hopes that you guys will be of some assistance.

Okay, let me just start by saying that I'm a Bass player, primarily. I recently decided to learn how to play the piano/keyboard . Now here's the question friends!! Okay, so I was at my local music retail store, looking for a good keyboard to start off with. I didn't want to go with a "low end" keyboard but being that I'm a beginner I didn't want to get too ahead of myself and buy a high end keyboard for several hundreds/several thousands of dollars. So I figured I would get 1 that was right in the middle, not too advanced but yet not too low end. So I ended up making my decision and buying a CASIO CTK-4200 for $270. Now I was wondering if you guys think I made a good decision in buying this keyboard, being that I'm a beginner and didn't want to go too cheap but yet not go to advanced and expensive. I was wondering is this a good keyboard for a beginner? I know it's not the best but it's definitely not the worse/cheapest. Did I make a good choice for what I was looking for?

Thanks guys, appreciate it !

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to the forum. Most of the forum members here are probably not that familiar with the CTK-4200 (I am not). I looked up the specifications - you can definitely make some music with it, and probably decide if you want to go forther with keys.

Some of the higher end Casio boards are being used for gigging by pros. Casio is also represented here.

My personal thought is that you have a board comparable to getting a Fender Squire bass - it may not be as good as a MIA Fender, but it is better than a lot of the stuff on the market.

Howard Grand|Hamm SK1-73|Kurz PC2|PC2X|PC3|PC3X|PC361; QSC K10's

HP DAW|Epi Les Paul & LP 5-str bass|iPad mini2