Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Will VOX come roaring back?

I'm not an expert on VOX but I do know that much of their vintage stuff is very good sounding and a tone many of us desire. Meanwhile, in the past 30 years they've not been a force in the amp market due to their use of pc boards and solid state technology. So what do I think of their emergence with the new modelers? So far so good. They're less than half the price of Vetta & zenTara, you can choose 1 or 2-12 cabs, and from the few reports that have trickled back from NAMM they have stunning sound. With the exception of zenTara, the current crop of modelers will get me 75% of the way there. Looking for at least 90% before I pull the trigger. If the new VOX can raise the bar, we all ride the tide. I don't know about you all but I encourage manufacturers to press on with new technology. Go VOX!!!!

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I can only tell you that if the modeler is as cool as my AC30 they've got a hit. I consider myself a Voxaholic as I have the AC30, a pair of '66 Phantom 6 and 12 strings, a Mando, a new MkIII (Brian Jones special) and a Jaguar organ. I have always loved their products and considered the product top notch

[quote]Originally posted by Trash Monkey: [b]I can only tell you that if the modeler is as cool as my AC30 they've got a hit.[/b][/quote] My friend, an expert guitarist with over 30 years of pro playing experience and an AC30 owner, fell so in love with the new modeling amp that he's actually getting rid of his AC30 to get it. I also heard it in Nashville and damn...it's cool stuff. - Jeff

Can somebody please splain to me why anyone would want an amp that modeled an AC-30 when they could just get an AC-30? I mean, it's not as if the AC-30 reissues exactly suck. I don't get it. [img]http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/confused.gif[/img] --Lee