Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

playing Tom Waits songs.

yorgatron

how would you go about it?

a friend of mine wants to do a Tom Waits tribute of sorts,and I'll be playing guitar/harmonica/percussion, and some of the piano parts. so even though I'm not very good at piano (or organ, or any other keyboard really) I'd like to hear what everyone else thinks about his piano style.

we're mostly working off simple cheat sheets (chords/lyrics) so any stylistic pointers would be appreciated.

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply
If you're looking at early Waits, the sound is a big part of it. I love the sound they have on "Closing Time", a compressed upright piano with loads of prescence. I really dig his piano style, it's very tasty and he's got great timing. He does a lot of country fills, double stops and so on. "Nighthawks at the diner" has loads of tasty playing.

I want to perform "My piano has been drinking". I haven't been able to locate sheet music for this. Anybody have any luck?

Yamaha Motif XF6, Yamaha AN200, Logic Pro X,  Arturia Microbrute, Behringer Model D, Yamaha UX-3 Acoustic Piano, assorted homemade synth modules

There is a huge shift in orchestration styles once he left Electra Records. Up to Heart Attack and Vine, he used rather simple, conventional instrumentation with a few exceptions. During that period, he made use of very simple and open arrangements. On Small Change, there are a few songs that use only a single instrument and Wait's voice. That sparse and dark soundscape is a significant part of the delivery. Blue Valentine is another album that demonstrates this point very well. IIRC, Blue Valentine is the first album where he used guitar distortion.