Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Beginner Gear

Zach S

Hey guys, new poster here. I have been playing guitar for about 6 months and I love it! I was curious though on what you guys think of some gear that I am considering purchasing. What acoustic guitars do you like that are in the $300 range. Also, the amp I do have is a Peavey Vypyr 15 watt, and I am wondering what kind of piece of equipment I would need so that I could just use a footswitch or something to change between a clean and distorted sound so I wouldnt have to manually hit the different presets I have on my amp, instead I can just hit something with my foot and keep playing smoothly with a different sound. Thanks

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The Yamaha FG730 series is about 300$ and I know 4 guys who own it and its a quality instrument, Local store in Pittsburgh area who sells it for 300 and on sale it comes with a Yamaha case. Very good deal.

Lok

1997 PRS CE24, 1981 Greco MSV 850, 1991 Greco V 900, 2 2006 Dean Inferno Flying Vs, 1987 Gibson Flying V, 2000s Jackson Dinky/Soloist, 1992 Gibson Les Paul Studio,

Also, the amp I do have is a Peavey Vypyr 15 watt, and I am wondering what kind of piece of equipment I would need so that I could just use a footswitch or something to change between a clean and distorted sound so I wouldnt have to manually hit the different presets I have on my amp, instead I can just hit something with my foot and keep playing smoothly with a different sound. Thanks

The Vyper footswitch will give you access to more features on the amp, but it's really essential for players who have the larger Vyper models, with more effects and the built-in Looper. You can't access the Looper without the footswitch, IIRC.