Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Nord Keyboards � Opinion

steffensteffen

Hi everybody.

Im a graphic design student from Denmark. As my final exam I'm doing a redesign of the Nord keyboards' identity. As a part of my work I'm doing a lot of research, to get to know the brand and it's values.

What is your opinion is on the Nord brand and it's product? And what do you think Nord does better/or worse than other keyboard manufactures?

I really hope you can help me getting to know the brand a little more :)

Best regards

Steffen

www.steffensteffen.com

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Very good simulation of electro-mechanical instruments. Clav, Wurlitzer, Rhodes pianos, and Tonewheel organs.

Some people swear by them as the best utility keyboard out there to cover gigging needs. Personally they fall short in the organ department for me but that's just my opinion. The company seems well run and the marketing seems to be done well.

"Danny, ci manchi a tutti. La E-Street Band non e' la stessa senza di te. Riposa in pace, fratello"

noblevibes.com

Make it ... um, blue. Yeah, blue.

(Just kidding.)

Frankly, it's going to be hard to improve on Nord identity, since they've done such an excellent job of it. The hallmarks are:

• Small: no unnecessary size (length, width, or depth).
  • Clean: no unnecessary shape elements
  • Light: easy to carry
  • Knobby: the controls you're likely to want to use during performance are available as knobs or switches, rather than menu-diving. Menu-diving is limited to mostly things you'd do in preparation. Thus all those controls on the top panel.
  • Clarity: it's pretty easy to figure out what something does by looking at it, assuming you have a basic understanding of the kind of keyboard already.
  • Red. Need I say more? You can spot one a mile away, and it's unmistakable.