Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Jazz - it's time....

Dave Bryce

I'm not much of a jazz player. Never have been. Don't get me wrong - I quite like listening to jazz...but just never got around to playing it much. I've been making a joke for many years that I'm saving jazz (and wine) for my old age...

Apparently, that time is here.

I've recently landed a gig which requires that I be able to play some nice jazzy piano. Rather than just memorize, I figure I may as well try to get a better handle on this stuff. Luckily, I'm friends with Jeff Lorber, and he's agreed to give me a few lessons to get me started. That should help some.... :cool:

Guess I have to start frequenting the reharm thread now... :eek:

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Your OP is is both :laugh: and :cool: dB.

Good luck and have fun. I'm sure you don't need it, and I'm sure you will. Also, keep us posted on your progress and the gig in general.

:thu:

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI

I think I have every one of his records/cds. I've always loved him and his producing chops. no one like him. Those bass parts he comes up with...damn...and he prolly just wings 'em.

I'm actually working on exactly one of those right now - little blues thing in Bb. Killer bass line.

db, is the gig solo or in a combo setting?

Combo.

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

Yeah, please let him know his KB interview a while back was great, and he was very cool in the Rhodes documentary.

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI

DB,