Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Fender Fat Finger

CEB

I saw one these clamped on a Stratocaster headstock. It is supposed to increase sustain.

Has anyone ever done a with and without comparison on this device?

I'm considering go back to a modeler or amp modling software and not using amps on stage. I only play guitar on 4 or 5 songs a night. I'm a keyboard player by trade.

I thought if this fat finger thing works it may be of use. .... but maybe not.

Thanks

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!

So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've fiddled around with various ways of getting a similar effect- more mass at the headstock translates into more sustain and a fuller, fatter tone overall. It will vary with the guitar used, though, and if you get feedback from loud speakers vibrating the guitar, it might actually detract from that- but again, this will vary, and quite widely.

FWIW, the Fatfinger- and before it, the Fathead- was invented and marketed by Aspen Pitman of Groove Tubes/GT Electronics fame. Fender bought GT a few years ago.

Ask yourself- What Would Ren and Stimpy Do?

~ Caevan James-Michael Miller-O'Shite ~

_ ___ _ Leprechaun, Esquire _ ___ _

Here's an OLD thread from another forum concerning GT Fat Fingers and Fat-Heads (and DIY-alternatives) being used on basses... They're the same as the Fender-branded 'Fingers 'n' 'Heads...

One poster there happened to have used a Fat Finger on a guitar, and had this to say: