Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

New gig rig!

RichieP_MechE

I've never had a nice 'pro' rig like many here at the Keyboard Corner: my rig when I joined my first and only band in high school was a Yamaha PSR 530 and a Roland KC 60. In college, I replaced the PSR with an Alesis QS6.1. When I graduated from college (2.5 years ago), my band broke up when our guitarist and bandleader moved out of state for his new job. I haven't played in a band since then.

As it turns out, my old bandmates and I decided to get back together to do a reunion gig sometime late this autumn. :rawk: I also just found out that I'll be getting a significant raise in salary at my day job! :idea: Rather than doing something like buying a motorcycle, I decided what would be a better time than now to take my new, larger paycheck and invest in an entirely brand new rig!

I've been desiring a Nord Electro ever since I learned about them on this forum many years ago. The Korg SV-1 also caught my interest when it arrived on the scene. I went to my local music store last week and tried out the Electro 3 and the SV-1. I absolutely loved the SV-1 interface (the buttons and knobs feel great!), but I need a good organ sound and the SV-1 didn't really deliver in that department. I absolutely feel in love with the Electro 3. I had a blast playing it. One thing I was worried about was the lack of an 'amount' knob for the effects, but I found that it didn't bother me at all. So I'll be heading back later this week to pick up an E3 73. :cool:

To replace the KC 60, I'm getting either a QSC K8 or K10 (which one I get depends on which fits more comfortably in the front seat of my truck!)

I had also planned on getting a 88 key weighted stage piano for a bottom board in my new setup. I was considering the PX-3, but my music store doesn't stock Casio products. They did, however, have a Yamaha P95 which I quite liked. But I'm not sure if I'm going to get one now because....