Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

The Power Of Music as Communication

d  halfnote

For over a decade I've sought the translation of this song from Portugeuese to English.

I've not found it yet.

The intention of the story seems apparent but the fine points of slang/idioms have escaped all translators with which I've dealt.

If anyone can help, I thank you.

Beyond that, I seek to consider the power & ability of music to communicate outside the usual realms of our attention.

d=halfnote

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I can look at it tomorrow. I am a professional translator who often works from Portuguese. I can give you what I've got, but in order to get the nuances I may have to refer to a Brazilian.

Though right now the only Brazilians are at a local Seventh Day Adventist church I went to on occasion, though I haven't gone lately.... a Saturday Jazz Ensemble came up, LOL! I'm not sure to what degree I can e-mail them and discuss these things......

Re: power of music to communicate. I have loved songs for years and not really grasped the subtleties of the lyrics, in English, I mean. Largely because I was more interested in the guitar parts.

Just to let you know, this is a Northeastern song (i'm a northeastern born) and there are no translation to some of the slangs to any other language. I'll try to get as closer to the meaning of the words as i can but it won't be perfect, it can't be 100% translated. Give me a few days and i'll get back to you.
"The purple piper plays his tune, The choir softly sing; Three lullabies in an ancient tongue, For the court of the crimson king"

It seems very odd to me that this is such a mystery but I've found this also in trying to translate other Brazilian songs, such as by Jorge Ben.

Why is this ?

I've been digging this song, with it's sublime vocals & tremendous instrumental track for 20 years & periodically trying to get it translated.