Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Guitar Notation in the Magazine

Floyd Tatum

I just have a question about the notation in some of the articles, for example the "10 things you gotta do to play like" articles.

I'm a student of guitar, so some of the symbols confuse me.

Does Guitar Player magazine have a notation reference book that they recommend?

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can't answer that...there had been a guide in the mag for deciphering certain specialty gtr symbols.

Is that no longer there ?

Is there a particular symbol I/anyone could help define ?

d=halfnote

I don't think there's a guide in the mag. If there is, then I can't find it.

I appreciate the offer of help with particular symbols, but I'd be more comfortable working with a reference manual, rather than posting a question here each time I encounter a symbol I don't recognize.

I'd be more comfortable working with a reference manual, rather than posting a question here each time I encounter a symbol I don't recognize.

O...K...

One prob there is that any given tutorial may not have the particular item you're looking for...

This may be a question best addressed by someone at the GP Ed's Forum...

d=halfnote

I don't think there's a guide in the mag. If there is, then I can't find it.

I appreciate the offer of help with particular symbols, but I'd be more comfortable working with a reference manual, rather than posting a question here each time I encounter a symbol I don't recognize.

That's understandable. While, as d has shown, you're very welcome here (and you've obviously made yourself at home before), you might get better results if you posted your questions over on the Guitar Player Editors' Office-Forum, where you're more likely to get direct replies from various GP Editors.

In the mean time, please feel free to ask specific notational and tab symbol questions here, and also check out the following: