Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Looking for a small Synth

02R96

Hello everyone,

As you can can tell by my picture I usually hang out in the Guitar Forum but I have a few questions the members of this forum are uniquely qualified to answer (shameless schmoozing).

I'm looking for a small synth to add background ambience and effects to my personal recordings. I'm not a touring musician and it probably will never leave my home studio, so road worthyness is not an issue. I'm not too familure with the terminology surrounding synths, so bear with me.

I do want a quality instrument. I was considering something along the lines of a Mopho or maybe a Roland Gaia SH-01. My price range is around 4 to 800 dollars. If it was polyphonic that would be a big plus.

So where do I start?

Dan

"I hate what I've become, trying to escape who I am..."

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Dan,

OK, the guitar forum guys were nice to me when I asked a couple of dumb questions over there. :) So, I'll try to help. (Although your question is not dumb!)

I own both a Mopho and a Mopho Keyboard, and if real analog is important to you, you probably can't do better for the price. However, it is monophonic. You could chain it to a desktop Tetra to make a fabulous polyphonic, all-analog synth, but that would definitely break your budget.

If you want to stay inside the budget AND have polyphony, I believe you are looking at virtual analog only. A good low-cost option there is the Alesis Micron. I owned one, and I absolutely loved it. It has two key drawbacks, not sure if you care about them.

1. It's not very roadworthy (my gigging routine killed mine after around 3 years :( ). But you already said you don't care about that.

2. It has very few knobs, and is therefore somewhat difficult to program. It has great presets, so if you're not into programming this is probably fine. But if you want to do real synth programming, I would look elsewhere.