Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Left wrist/forearm pain

p90jr

Okay, for some reason I'm having some pain and discomfort in my left wrist/forearm.

not when I play, but when it's in a normal position as opposed to n upturned playing position... and especially when I play keys.

I've dealt with the onset of carpal tunnel syndrome from bad fingering habits and corrected them. This is something else, in a different place.

Can I have played the guitar and bass too much? My day job is design and artwork but the right hand does the vast majority of that... everything but typing (but even most of that, really).

I've had some bike wrecks and falls over the years but instinctively put the right hand out when that happens (figuring I could probably fingerpick even if wrist motion were limited) or have moved them both out of the way and taken the brunt on shoulders...

I don't know... I'm careful about these things, use a dolly/cart to move gear so I'm not straining anything that way... am careful about how I do repetitive things to avoid problems...

All I can think is that I roll over and sleep on it a lot...

Anybody else have any similar problems?

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yeah, like non-stop all day long pain, & it's often worst after a supposedly restful night of sleep, & sufficiently bad to make getting up a difficult process. More about shoulders, neck & upper arms in my case. Are you mid-late fifty-ish? A lot of this kind of stuff just comes with age, not any specific thing we've done. Could be tendonitis or any of the related soft tissue things which spring from general inflammation. I've not found a cure or any real relief yet. Let me know if something you try works.

Scott Fraser