Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Am I a Bad Person For This?

plangentmusic

Here's my quandary.

I have nine basses and have owned dozens of others, including some boutiques. (Which are long gone, but that's a topic for another time). I finally settled on the ones that work for me in various situations. I can get pretty much any sound and feel for any type of music among those instruments.

One of my favorite basses is (he says sheepishly) is the Squier Jazz Deluxe with the ebonol finger board. The bass is just awesome. 299 bucks. It's ridiculous.

Anyway, I like to use this bass for certain situations, but the last couple of times I took it out where I sat in or subbed for someone , I detected a little prejudice from the band members when they see the headstock. SQUIER?!?! They assume it's cheap, or I'm a hobbyist or I don't know what quality is , or I'm just cheap. The truth is, I just really dig the bass.

I would love to take it into the studio but the last thing I need is a client or producer or an engineer thinking "Uh oh, a Squier -- this guy can't be serious."

So...I sanded off the logo and put on a Fender decal. : )

Now, I didn't do this to fool anyone and I certainly would never attempt to pass it off as a Fender -- I just did it so it wouldn't be an issue and I can just concentrate on doing my job. In fact tonight I worked with some new people and used the Squier with the faux headstock and the only reaction I got was "Hey man, great sound!' lol

ANyway, here's a little sample of a track I did a while back wih the Squier that I think shows the tone that I really like.

Some guys have a problem with "misrepresenting " an instrument. What's your verdict? After all...it's kind of a Fender.

JAZZ UN-STANDARDS http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vE4FoJ4Cr4&feature=related

DON'T FEAR...THE REVERB! 60's Instrumentals with MORE BASS!

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply