Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Keyboard Loops, fills 'n Chords

Fumblyfingers

Hi all.

I am a non keyboard playing guitarist and I want to be able to create MIDI keyboard parts in my sessions.

Up to now I have been trying to write keyboard parts, using a MIDI guitar controller to trigger my soft synths/VI's and sample libraries, but it is not cutting it. It's okay for single line stuff and pads, motion pads etc etc but obviously keyboard voicing's are not possible in one pass and also it is a common problem with guitar synths to get glitches, double triggers and false triggers when using piano type sounds. So a ton of time wasting editing is required.

Having said all that....please excuse this horrific question..... :sick::laugh:

Can anyone recommend any really good MIDI file libraries that focus on piano, and other types of keyboard performances?

I'd love to find a program(s) that contains hip chord voicings, interesting arpeggio's and typical chord runs and fills, pads etc etc in different styles and time signatures even. Files that with a little editing can be made to sound professional.

Is there even such a thing? I'd like to find stuff that real keyboard players consider excellent programs?

FWIW I love the playing of Lyle Mays, Chick, Jan Hammer, Billy Preston, Herbie, Donald Fagen, Booker T, Rick Davies....to name a few.

I know I am a bounder and this is a totally outrageous and sacrilegious question to ask here..... sacre bleu, pardon messieur!!!

Anyone know of anything..........?

Thanks. :D:thu:

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A forum full of people who pride themselves on playing those parts is probably the worst place to ask this question, n'est pas?

That said, the first thing that comes to mind is Band In A Box. You give it the chord structures and it generates parts, including piano accompaniment. I don't have the URL handy but it's by PG Music, lIRC.