Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Used XP-50 or used X-50, Juno Di or MM6 or something else?

headhunter636

I am glad I stumbled upon this forum, I have been trying to decide on a new (or used) synth to replace my worn out JV-80.

I have narrowed it down to a few new machines, Korg X-50, Roland Juno Di or a Yamaha MM6. I think I have almost all but eliminated the MM6 because it really seems a little flimsy in build quality and the 32 poly is a bit lacking. I have also been looking into some used synths as well and right now I have my eye on a Roland XP-50. I like the feel of my JV-80 so I am assuming the XP-50 will be about the same, only with a little more horsepower.

I am no pro, and this would be for home use, set-up in a studio environment. So mobility is not a big issue. My music style is a little bit of everything, but I mostly write for piano and I like ambient sounds, pads, strings, voices and synths.

Any opinions would be great, I havent shopped for a keyboard since I bought my JV-80 new back in 1991, however, I have tried all the above mentioned synths out at the store. I realize that a new synth that is in the $600 - $700 range will be sacrificing build quality and a few other things, which is why I am considering used. I am also trying to find a used Triton LE or Motif 6, if the price is right.

Any other suggestions would be great.

Thanks,

Dave

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Korg X-50, Roland Juno Di or a Yamaha MM6. I think I have almost all but eliminated the MM6 because it really seems a little flimsy in build quality and the 32 poly is a bit lacking.

The X50 is pretty flimsy too. It also has a questionable piano patch(es), the bread and butter sounds on the MM6 are much better IMO, while the synthy stuff is better on the X50. The X50 has a terrible keybed.