Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

BP Feature: Graham Maby plays "Friday"

Bottom End

FYI-The most recent BP has a transcription of Graham Maby's bass line for "Friday" from the Joe Jackson Album "I'm The Man".

It's great to see Graham get some attention, and it also led me to put Joe Jackson in heavy rotation while I worked through the line. What seems simple on paper just demonstrates how important being "in the pocket" is, and that even fast picking can be funky, and not every great bass player has to slap.

Graham Maby has played on every Joe Jackson album, amongst others, and is one of my top 5 bass inspirations. Even before I started playing music, his playing caught my attention, and great challenges in learning how to play his lines. He was predominantly a pick player in his early days, as a lot of British bassists seem to be, and his playing is an argument for learning picking skills no matter how much you might love/be comfortable with fingerstyle.

It's mentioned in the article that the late 70's-early '80's was a great time for music where the bass was very prominent; besides Maby with Jackson, you had Bruce Thomas with Elvis Costello, Pete Farndon with The Pretenders, and countless one-hit wonders; I'd go further and say that a lot of those songs were made by the bass line.

"Call me what instrument you will, though you can fret me, yet you cannot play upon me.'-Hamlet

Guitar solos last 30 seconds, the bass line lasts for the whole song.

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Don't forget Bruce Foxton with the Jam as another terrific bassist from that era. The other element, especially with Joe Jackson (and the Jam to some extent) is how prominently the bass is positioned in the mix. They really carried the song equally--and sometimes predominating--over the guitar.