Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Keyboard Weight? The Hidden Problem...

SteeVtheRipper

I don't mean to offend or insult anyone by asking this, but I am generally curious as I am not a gigging musician and my boards stay put.

I hear a lot of people on here complaining about the weight of their boards. My question is why not just get a band mate or someone else help you with it? I've seen people straight up disqualify a board because its like 50 pounds. And today I saw someone wrote "Ouch" about a board that was 30 pounds. I just don't think 50 pounds is that heavy, let alone 30. If we were talking lugging a piano, Rhodes or a Hammond around, that would be a different story. Is it because when the band is setting up everyone is doing their own thing? I can't see how someone couldn't just take 2 mins out of their time to lift a board onto a stand. Or are the issues more health related, like bad back or arms? Even still someone could help I would think. And if you're a solo performer, I am sure someone at the venue you're working at could help, right? They also make carrying cases with wheels that help with transport. I guess really the consistent pain in the ass would be getting it in and out of your car and house.

I guess what I'm getting at is doesn't anyone ask for help?

Again I don't mean to offend anyone here, or come off as condescending. I really am just curious.

1974 Rhodes, CP70B, Polivoks, Dominion 1, Behringer D, Mother 32, DFAM, MS20 Mini, Folktek Mescaline, Nord Lead 2x, KArp Odyssey, Jv1080, Digitakt, Hydrasynth,

• Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply