Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice, 6 year olds first guitar

akzcampbell

I am new to this, I was never much into music so bear with me :) My six year old wants Santa to being him a guitar and I went to guitar world and was overwhelmed with all the options. They suggested a Yamaha 3/4... I dont want to spend to much because I want to make sure its something he will stick with, but I wont want anything to cheap because he will need to use it for a couple years at least until I will get him a great one... Suggestions would be a HUGE help :) I dont know how to feel about the guitar salesman... Are they telling me to buy what they want to sell, or whats really best for a kid... Thanks in advanced! :)

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't think a 3/4-size Yamaha is a terrible decision. You could do far worse buying a "kiddie" guitar (i.e. toy) at a megastore. Is it worth it to get something like a Baby Taylor, though, if there's a chance something bad may happen to it? (Left out in the rain, accidentily stepped on, used for batting practice, etc.)

I started playing guitar at age 9 on a full-size. I don't have any direct experience with 6-year-olds playing guitar. I suggest finding an instructor first -- one who has experience with young kids -- and ask him/her about what he/she thinks is a good guitar to buy for junior.

WELL... I am making him take care of it... I am going to pretend it cost a pretty penny so he is sure to take care of it... I want him to have plenty of practice taking good care of one in case a better one is in his future... We will see how it goes... Thanks for the info do far :)

I will look into a Squire