Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: Booking gigs

NewImprov

OK, I have a confession to make. I've been gigging for nearly 3 decades, and still, I hate booking gigs. For the last 8 years, I was in a band that worked a lot, and had a guy that was personable, charismatic, and could shmooze his way through a brick wall, he did all of our booking, and kept us working a lot. He was also an egomaniacal narcissist control freak, but I digress. I, on the other hand, tend to be introverted, socially awkward, and have all the charm of dried piece of dung, as you may have been able to tell from my posts here.

Nonetheless, I'm currently playing in 2 bands that are absolutely kicking my ass musically, and the people in them are very cool. The only problem is, it really becoming obvious that I should be the one booking the gigs for both of them. One band in particular is a mix of a couple of "pros" and a couple of very talented players who really haven't played out a lot. Of everyone in the band, I'm the one that should have the most contacts and regional reputation.

I have booked a few local shows for both bands in my smallish city, clubs where I know the owner/bookers, and booking a gig was as easy just making a phone call and finding an available night. But I'd like us to be playing more regionally. Of course, in an ideal world, for the last 8 years, I would have been gathering contacts at all the gigs I did in my former band, getting to know the booking people, ingratiating myself with them, and now, booking my new bands would just mean flipping through my rolodex. But, I'm just terrible at networking.

So, what are your tips for booking a killer band? Calling clubs, saying, "Hi, my name is Dave, you might remember me from bands like..."? For the guys out there working it all the time, what can you recommend to a shmo like me?

Turn up the speaker

Hop, flop, squawk

It's a keeper

-Captain Beefheart, Ice Cream for Crow

• Replies 16