Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advancing at pro level w/out using jazz as the method?

cameldrone

For many many years, since music school, I've studied and practiced Jazz methods as a way to advance my keyboardsmanship, even though I've never really craved it as a style. It has given me a great command of all keyboards, and harmony, and technique, and bettered my ears, but I never could call myself a jazz lover, nor fan, even though I'm pretty competent. I'm a working pro favoring other styles, progressive styles that I love and crave which also demand a superior command of my keyboards, which jazz practice has given me, but I am having to make a tough admission after all these years: that jazz just doesn't "do it" for me; never hit that sweet spot, never been much of a listener, never tugged at me emotionally, so even though I'm pretty advanced at it (able to gig Real Book tunes with other pros, for example). It's kind of like weightlifting is to sports -- something that I don't like and wouldn't engage in for its own sake, but need to do it and do it well to be better at the sport. Here's the thing: At this point, I just don't think I'm going to be able to push into the next very challenging level without that "love" component, which I never had, and after all this time never will, and which can't be forced.